Grilled Tsatziki Chicken

This quick, easy, and healthy Monday night dinner came out of a mistake I made the week before.  I was making grilled lamb patties and thought I would take a shortcut and top them with this store-bought tsatziki sauce pictured below.  It  wasn’t that good and didn’t particularly have much flavor.  If I would have looked closer or bothered to read the label I would have saw it was low-fat and I never would have bought it, but then I would not have made this awesome chicken last night.

I served this chicken, sliced, with a quick homemade tsatziki sauce, lettuce and cucumber on a warm pita

FullSizeRender (21)

Ingredients

Jar of store tsatziki sauce

2 lbs skinless chicken thighs

Salt and Pepper

Directions Salt and pepper chicken thighs and marinate with store tsatziki sauce in large ziplock bag or covered bowl for 5-6 hours.  Grill until thighs reach an internal temperature of 165 degrees.  Top with warm pita and homemade tsatziki sauce below and other toppings like lettuce, cucumber, onion, tomato.

Tsatziki Sauce 

1 cup of plain, full-fat Greek yogurt

1/2 grated English cucumber

1 clove finely minced garlic

1/2 juice of lemon

tablespoon of minced dill

Salt and pepper

Directions Squeeze as much liquid as possible out of the grated cucumber with paper towels (I used about 5-6) or a clean dish towel.  Add all of the ingredients and mix thoroughly.  Refrigerate tsatziki for an hour or two before using.

FullSizeRender (20)

Results Surprisingly, chicken marinated in store-bought tsatziki and topped with homemade tsatziki is not the least bit overkill, but quite delicious.  However, the chicken was so fantastic and tender it could be easily served by itself minus the extra sauce and pita. I will definitely buy this sauce that I mocked to make this chicken again.  It also makes me want to experiment with other yogurt-based marinades that I have seen recipes for, but did not try yet because I was skeptical.

Leave a comment