Pot Roast with Roasted Carrots and Mashed Potatoes

We don’t have a lot of frequent repeat meals, but I tend to make pot roast about once a month.  I was always confused growing up because I don’t remember eating “pot” roast, but roast beef, which was a “rump” or “bottom round” roast cooked a certain amount of time per pound and sliced very thin.  My grandparents made this for me whenever I visited and I loved it.  But after many years of overcooking “roast beef” I have come to appreciate the more tender, flavorful and less fussy chuck, which is the cut of beef used in traditional pot roasts.

Ingredients for Pot Roast with Roasted Carrots

2.2 lb. chuck roast

1 scallion roughly chopped  (I would typically use a yellow onion and quarter it)

2-3 cloves of garlic smashed

2 sprigs of fresh rosemary (I would have used dry if I did not have fresh)

1/2 teaspoon of dry thyme flakes (or fresh if you have)

1 bay leaf

1 cup beef broth (I used a cup of beef broth leftover from last month’s pot roast)

1 cup of water (I reserved a cup of water from the mashed potatoes)

1 cup of dry red wine

8-10 peeled carrots with the ends trimmed

fresh parsley

Salt, Pepper and Flour

Dutch oven

*If you don’t have a Dutch oven you can prepare the roast in a skillet and then put it in a roasting pan to braise.

IMG_4595IMG_4598IMG_4601

*Unlike his sister, Alec has always wanted to help mama in the kitchen

Directions

Season beef generously with salt and pepper and dredge on both sides with flour shaking off any excess.  This will make a more flavorful, and hopefully, thicker sauce while it is braising.  On stovetop, heat Dutch oven and add a tablespoon of oil and of butter.  Sear beef on both sides until nicely browned trying not move the meat around until you need to flip it over.  This small roast needed about 3-4 minutes on each side.  I had room in the pan to add my “aromatics.”  Some recipes remove the beef before and then add the onions, garlic, etc, but I just placed them on the side and sautéd for a minute or so before adding the wine. I cooked the wine down for about 3-5 minutes before adding the rest of the liquid; 1 cup of reserved potato water and 1 cup of beef broth.   I also placed a bundle of fresh parsley (only because I had it), fresh rosemary, dry thyme, bay leaf and salt and pepper on the roast.  Finally, I placed the roast in a 325 degree oven for 2 1/2 hours.  I added the carrots after the roast had been cooking for 45 minutes so they would not be overcooked.

IMG_4592

Mashed Potatoes

6 red potatoes peeled and cut into roughly equal size pieces

1/4 cup of whole milk or heaving whipping cream

1 stick of softened or room temperature butter

Salt and Pepper

Directions

Place potatoes in cold salty water and boil potatoes for about fifteen minutes until they fall apart with a fork.  Drain the potatoes and place them back on the burner for a minute or so to cook off any excess water.  Add plenty of salt and pepper, the stick of butter, and milk or cream and mash with a potato masher or beat with an electric mixer.  I like my potatoes smooth and creamy so I use a mixer and may add a little extra milk or cream if needed.

IMG_4603

Results

The meat and carrots were cooked perfectly.  The roast was fall-apart tender and the carrots were nice and soft, but not mushy as they would have been if I cooked them the whole time.  The only complaint was that the roast could have been bigger so we had leftovers for sandwiches.  Still, it was just the right amount for four people who like their meat.   Also, after removing the parsley and rosemary springs (the onion and garlic melted away to almost nothing) the remaining liquid was perfect as a gravy for the mashed potatoes.  On the other hand, I was told that my mashed potatoes could have been better seasoned.  Honestly, I am a salt-aholic and salted the potatoes three-to-four separate times.  I do agree though that they were not the best potatoes I have ever made.  All in all, we enjoyed the meal.  The only real downside is the aftermath in dealing with Brent’s gas (it’s not my fault you fed me beef is his usual refrain)  and unfortunately, I am out of matches!

Leave a comment