Bacon and Kale with Vodka Sauce over Rigatoni

Image-1 (5)

I had some leftover kale and some leftover bacon and decided they would go well together in a pasta dish, which we eat about once week.  I was in the mood for a creamy sauce so I made a vodka sauce but with less tomatoes, which I served over rigatoni.   A traditional vodka sauce is heavier on the tomato versus the cream.

Image-1 (3)

Ingredients

Roughly chopped kale (this was about four cups)

Diced bacon (this was about four-five pieces)

1 14 oz. can or box of tomatoes

4 cloves of garlic diced

1 shallot chopped

1/4 cup of parsley chopped

1 cup of heavy whipping cream

1/4 cup of vodka

1/2 cup chicken broth (not pictured)

1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes

Salt and Pepper

1 cup parmesan plus extra for topping

Directions

I sautéd the bacon and then set it aside.  This dish is fattening enough so I dumped the bacon grease (yes, you can pour it right down the drain) and cleaned the pan.  I added about 2 tablespoons of butter and a splash of olive oil to the pan after it was heated and sautéd the shallots for a few minutes before adding the garlic for thirty seconds.  Then I added the kale, vodka, chicken broth, tomatoes, salt and pepper, and red pepper flakes and simmered for about ten minutes.  Finally, I added the cream and simmered for a few minutes and then added the cooked pasta, which I topped with the parmesan cheese, fresh Italian parsley and bacon.

Image-1 (6)

Results

We love pasta with greens and it was even better with a little bit of bacon.  The only major complaint was that the vodka taste was too strong.  I saw various recipes add the vodka along with the tomatoes and then simmering them together, but I should have stuck with what I know when cooking with alcohol and added the vodka first and cooked it down before adding the other liquid ingredients.  I have to admit it was way easier to waste the vodka on this dinner than it is with wine since I don’t drink vodka.  Also, there is typically no chicken broth in a vodka sauce, but I am in the habit of adding it to all my sauces because it adds more flavor.  Overall, a yummy, though very fattening, dish!

Leave a comment